

October 15, 2021

The Honorable Xavier Becerra Secretary U.S. Department of Health and Human Services 330 C Street, SW Washington, D.C. 20416

Dear Secretary Becerra:

With passage of the continuing resolution, we write to urge the Department of Health and Human Services to release Low-Income Home Energy Assistance Program (LIHEAP) funds as quickly and at the highest level possible.

As the main federal program that helps low-income households and seniors with their energy bills, LIHEAP provides critical assistance during the cold winter and hot summer months. October marks the start of the heating season for many states and low-income families and seniors will be facing additional strains on their household budgets. In addition, millions of low-income families, including seniors, are facing new and severe financial hardship due to the coronavirus, making the assistance provided through LIHEAP more important than ever.

As state agencies work to prepare their LIHEAP programs for the coming winter, it is crucial that they have the resources they need to assist low-income households and seniors as soon as possible, especially in light of the current health crisis. As such, we request that you quickly release LIHEAP funds at the highest level possible to allow states to prepare for the upcoming season, so that low-income households do not have to choose between paying for heat and affording other necessities like food or medicine.

We look forward to continuing to work with you on this critical program, and thank you for your attention to our concerns and those of our constituents.

Sincerely,

Ja**c**k Reed

United States Senator

Susan M. Collins

United States Senator

Jeanne Shaheen

Jeanne Shaheen
United States Senator

Tammy/Duckworth
United States Senator

Angus S. King, Jr. United States Senator

Tammy Baldwin
United States Senator

Kyrsten Sinema United States Senator

Patrick Leahy
United States Senator

Lisa Murkowski United States Senator

Sheldon Whitehouse United States Senator

Tina Smith United States Senator

Margaret Wood Hassan United States Senator

Tim Kaine United States Senator

Christopher S. Murphy United States Senator

Gary C.Peters
United States Senator

Maria Cantwell
United States Senator

Elizabeth Warren United States Senator

Mazie K. Hirono United States Senator

Debbie Stabenow United States Senator

Benjamin L. Cardin United States Senator Michael F. Bennet United States Senator

Cory A. Booker United States Senator

Raphael G. Warnock United States Senator

Joe Manchin IH
United States Senator

Richard Blumenthal United States Senator

Robert P. Casey, Jr. United States Senator

Richard J. Durbin
United States Senator

Kirsten Gillibrand
United States Senator

Bernard Sanders
United States Senator

Ben Ray Lujan
United States Senator

Catherine Cortez Masto United States Senator Patty Murray
United States Senator

Amy Klobuchar United States Senator

Mark R. Warner United States Senator

Dianne Feinstein United States Senator

Mark Kelly United States Senator